starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Low Bar Squat Form Check

Default First Low Bar Squat Form Check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    This is my first time posting a form check. Please nit pick everything. This weight is at 225lbs. I do feel some slight discomfort in my lower back but it's mainly because I work a job that I have to sit in a car for a long time. I've been doing SS for about a month now.

225 SS Squat - YouTube

1) Break your knees and hips at the same time. You are currently pushing your hips back first, then breaking your knees, which results in you taking too long to get your knees in the proper position, and you have some knee slide. Get your knees in place over your toes by about 1/2 way down, then set them in place and finish the descent with your hips. 2) Keep your lower back tighter at the bottom; there's a little flexion happening.

The video is somewhat grainy so it was hard to see some details, such as whether these were to proper depth.

I really appreciate your feedback. I definitely see what you are talking about. Hopefully I will be able to address it tomorrow.

This link is for the same video hopefully in HD. Let me know if it is still grainy and what your thoughts are on depth. Thanks!

225 SS - Low Bar Squat - YouTube

Better video quality. No additional form comments. Let's see what fixing your knees does.

I think I was able to get down moving both my knees and and hips at the same time. I'm not really sure if I was able to stop my knees half way down and finish with my hips. I definitely was losing tightness at the bottom and will continue to work on that.

Here is today's lift at 230lbs.
    230 SS - Low Bar Squat - YouTube

Also I just want to reiderate that I appreciate your time and feedback. Thanks!