starting strength gym

Thread: Squat - Form Check - Please and thank you

Default Squat - Form Check - Please and thank you

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    An absolute newbie here and to the lifting world (started a couple of months ago with a barbell). I've been weak and fat all my life. Would appreciate any and every bit of help. Please and thank you. Here's the squat video:

Squat - First video - newbie

Hello, good on you brother and welcome.

So I'm thinking of some different things that I think would be beneficial for you to fix, very much so in the long run. First of all this is a high bar squat, it actually doesn't look too bad, but it's not a low bar squat. If you want to do what SS recommends I'd suggest you re-read the squat section, lower the bar on your back and lean forward when you squat to make it more horizontal. These are some pointers I think of when watching your squat:

1. Take your grip on the bar before you move under the bar. It's very hard to get a correct grip on the bar as you're doing now.
    2. You are coming onto your toes a little bit at the bottom, try to focus on having the weight distributed over the center of your foot. Perhaps if you think a little bit more "from the heels" that would help. Also shoes with a heel would most likely help you with this too.
    3. The bar is too high when you take it out. You tip-toe the weights to get it out a little bit and very much so at the end. This is Dangerous with heavy weights.

Other than that I think that you're doing a good job on these reps. I think it's worth to mention that you stop a little bit unecessarily at the bottom, and you can also work on getting a little bit deeper. GL!
    Last edited by SSDino; 05-21-2017 at 02:42 AM.