starting strength gym

Thread: Really large breasts and rounding of the upper back in the squat

Default Really large breasts and rounding of the upper back in the squat

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'm not trying to claim special snowflake status here, but well...

A little background info: I'm female, first of all, these are female breasts we're talking about, just to make sure that's clear. I'm short, about 5'1". I've read Starting Strength and Sullivan's book. My brother is a long time SS'er and has been my feedback buddy/coach. I am a rank novice, and I'm about 20 lbs overweight. While I don't expect this to mean that much to anyone here, I wear a 30H bra. It means my rib cage is on the really small end of the female spectrum but I carry a LOT on the front of my body.

In a relaxed position, no barbell no nothing, there is some rounding visible in my upper back. I can get into the lowball squat starting position. At the beginning of my workout my hands are near the end of the first knurl, but after warming up I can bring them in an inch or two. I can get into a good lockout position, chest up, looking down, locking the barbell onto my back in the right position. BUT, I tend to go forward at the bottom of the squat, sometimes my heels even come off the ground. I can see in my videos that my upper back is rounding out. Round upper back, the bar position shifts forward, impossible to have a vertical bar path, etc etc -- everything gets messed up. I had a lot of trouble getting depth for a while, but now I'm getting that sorted, and yet the rounding of the back continues, and it makes depth and balance a whole lot harder. I'm just generally very inconsistent. I'm working on knees out and general weakness in the posterior chain is definitely part of my problem, but this shoulders crap makes a difference, and it's really frustrating.