starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Form check for beginner-175lbs

Default Form check for beginner-175lbs

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I've been working on the SS program for a couple of months now and even taken a few classes to help correct my form. I'm really struggling with my squat (deadlift too but that's a separate post) mainly on the way up and not balancing the bar over mid foot while keeping the bar verticals. I squared 175lbs for the first time today and have a link below. If you can offer some solid tips or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Info,
    155lbs BW

7/15/17-squat 165lbs - YouTube

Thanks!

Mike

Well, you don't really have any hip drive. Your knees are going too far forward and you are too upright. Get bent over earlier and keep your chest aimed at the floor until you are halfway back up. Stop looking up. Fix these, get some footage from the back 45 degrees and repost.

Thanks-very helpful tips. I'm definitely going to pause at 175 and try to get these issues nipped in the but. It's been an issue that's keeping me down too long.

I've taken the advice below, really tried to focus looking down (very hard to untrain btw), knees pointing out while driving up with hips. I have two new links posted below.

I'm still feeling like my form is off. I worked at 175lbs for the last 3 sessions and feel as though my depth is good (can see better from the side angle) but the weight is still winning at some reps. Not sure if I stall here (again today was my 3rd session at this weight), drop the weight, or increase to 180lbs on Saturdays session?

Any feedback and constructive advice from those that are quailfied to give it, would be very much appreciated!

7/20-squat 175lbs - YouTube

7/20 - squat back angle 175lbs - YouTube