starting strength gym

Thread: Squat / DL form check

Default Squat / DL form check

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    33 YOM @ 6'1" 200lb. I'm a firefighter / paramedic / father of 3 in San Antonio looking to get stronger for my job and for life. I've been doing dedicated training for about 3 years now.

I started my novice LP @ 175lbs and finished it a few months back (after a couple of resets) at 300x5 / 335x1 SQ; 360x5 / 425x1 DL; 225x5 / 260x1 BP; and 170X5 / 185x1 OHP. I took a break, and am now a few weeks back into a modified TM program. Started the program at 195 and have been adding a pound a week w/ approx 3600kcal/day. I'm not looking to be a competitive powerlifter and would be more than content to top out at 365 SQ, 455 DL, 300 BP, and 200 SP before I start maintaining and adding conditioning back in for general health.

Back squat 270 x 5
    Back squat 270x5 - YouTube

Deadlift 360x5
    Stylish Deadlift 360x5 - YouTube

Thanks in advance for the help!

Squat - Please get video from the rear 45 degree angle as there are key diagnostics not visible from this angle (stance width, knees out, bar position, etc.). From what I can see here, you are not staying tight at the bottom. See how you bounce off your calves at the bottom and your knees shoot forward? That shouldn't happen. The bottom bounce is a result of the knees not moving and your hamstrings staying under tension.

Deadlift - please show your set up. You have the bar too far forward of your shins which is impacting your pull.

I'll get a rear 45 on the next intensity day, thanks Jeff!

dannyleerod-

That seems like some pretty good run on your LP. I think you can be more aggressive with your weight gain- shooting for 2-3 pounds a week- which probably means you need to increase your calories to closer to 4500kcal/day. You are for sure underweight still at that height!