starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Another new guy, happy to be here

Default Another new guy, happy to be here

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I see that I joined this site back in 2011, but I have just now read Mark’s books and have been reading posts here. And how could I not join a forum with a tagline of “Get off my lawn?”

I am 55, 5’10” and 195. I started lifting weights in 1974 and it has been on and off since then. I still have some of the blue plastic weights my dad got us from the EJ Korvettes store in about 1966. It occurs to me that weight training is something I have always enjoyed and that I always do come back to it after trying other things (soccer, distance running, basketball, Jiu Jitsu, racquetball).

I am six weeks into a (mostly) one lift a day routine – it fits work and life schedules. I tried 5-3-1 back in 2011 with a goal of benching 300 for the first time, but only got to 280 before injuring a shoulder doing weighted dips. This time I am committed to mastering good form and being patient, starting with lighter weights so I can learn what good form feels like, especially for the squat. The resources and your comments here help a lot.

My last week’s workout is as follows: a good number of ramp up sets to 3 work sets of 5

Sunday off
    Monday, High Bar Squat (shoulder injuries prevent low bar) 3x5 110lbs
    Tuesday, Bench 3x5 165lbs
    Wednesday off
    Thursday, Seated OHP (low ceiling) 3x5 125lbs, chin-ups (5x3)
    Friday off
    Saturday, RDL 3x5 205lbs

I haven’t set any goals yet, just enjoying being mostly injury free and still in this game. I tend to do better with deadlift (did 20 rest/pause reps at 300 about 10 years ago) and bench, OHP so-so and not well with squats. I think I can add 10 pounds a week to squat for a quite a while, Lord willing.