starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Losing Weight & Recovery

Default Losing Weight & Recovery

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I've posted only a few times but I really could use some advice from the group here.

A little background on me. Currently I am 49, 5' 8.5", 172 lbs. I started training in September of last year when I was at 213 lbs. and above 30% BF. I'm currently about 25% and continuing to go down. I started on the Novice Progression in January and my lifts have gone up but I have stalled a time or 2 and have made adjustments (IE: 2 lb increase on the bench & 1 lb increase on the Press). I've stalled more on the squat than any other of the lifts. I've had to reset several times due to either fatigue, form issues, or joint discomfort/IT band issues.

My current lifts are:
    Squat 240 3x3
    Deadlift 295 1x5
    Bench 153 3x5
    Press 105 3x5

I've gotten help with my Nutrition from Barbell Medicine and that has helped me to continue to stay fairly steady on lifts while still losing weight.

My issue is now I'm really starting to struggle on increasing the lifts. My ultimate goal is to gain muscle as I have always been skinny fat guy but I'm not sure at what point to stop losing weight. My lifts are suffering and I feel on the current path I am on I don't have much further to go.

Looking for feedback on where to go from here. Should I continue to lose more weight to get my BF down to a lower level? Should I consider going off the caloric deficit I have been on?

Older guy with no clue.