starting strength gym

Thread: Geezer Diet and Transition to Intermediate Training

Default Geezer Diet and Transition to Intermediate Training

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Is there any point to trying to transition to intermediate training at the same time I try to lose some weight?

I've been doing a novice progression for about ten months now, moving intentionally slowly, but making good progress. Right now, my squat is at 345 (5 x 3), deadlift at 355 (5 x 1), Bench 205 (5 x 3), Press 125 (5 x 3) and PC 115 (3 x 5). I'm resetting on Bench and Press after stalls, but my squat, deadlift, and PC are still progressing. PC is low because I started low and I only deadlift and PC every other week.

About six weeks ago, I got tired of being fat, and I started a ketogenic diet. I went from 212 to 197 now. Right now I seem to lose about two pounds per week without much trouble. I didn't know that I wasn't supposed to be able to make progress while on a diet, so my lifts kept going up. Now I'm pretty sure I'm approaching the end of my novice progression. The diet probably isn't helping me, but about nine years ago I did SS and stalled out at about 375 (5 x 3) on squats and 245 (5 x 3) on bench, so I'm already within 10 to 20 percent of what I was doing then (except PC).

I will keep working on linear progress, but I don't expect it to last much longer on most of my lifts. On the other hand, I also want to lose some more weight. My current goal is 181. When I reach that point, I'll see if I want to lose more.

Is there any way I can make progress on an intermediate program like Texas Method while continuing to lose weight? Or should I just continue doing my current program wherever I stall to maintain my strength until I am prepared to gain some fat again?

BTW, I've been lurking for a while, but it is only now that I've embraced my geezerhood to post on the "Elderly" forum.