starting strength gym

Thread: Interesting Observation

Cool Interesting Observation

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I work out in my garage where I can stare at all my toys to keep me motivated. I managed to drop my lifting shoes in a bucket of used motor oil. So, I started lifting in my bare feet until I could get some new shoes. It took me awhile to get the new shoes. When I use them now I don't feel right. They're good shoes according to the online reviews.Solid sole and 3/4 heel. I much prefer lifting in bare feet now. I feel so planted and solid now that I don't want to go back to shoes. Is that weird or what? With the flat feet my balance feels much better whether its squats or deadlifts or presses.

Most people here will tell you you aren't doing it right and you need the support of a good weightlifting shoe. Not me - for me, lifting is very much a mental thing and, if you feel better lifting barefoot and your form is good, you should continue to do so. I have expensive lifting shoes ( do-wins) that I seldom use - I feel more comfortable in Chucks. ( I am probably wrong on this ....)

Quote Originally Posted by old guy View Post
    Most people here will tell you you aren't doing it right and you need the support of a good weightlifting shoe. Not me - for me, lifting is very much a mental thing and, if you feel better lifting barefoot and your form is good, you should continue to do so. I have expensive lifting shoes ( do-wins) that I seldom use - I feel more comfortable in Chucks. ( I am probably wrong on this ....)
    Nope, you are right. Most people here have never tried anything different from what they have been told. Weightlifting shoes are not the best for everyone.
    I have a pair of Adidas Adipowers that do nothing but collect dust. All of my lifting is done in flat soled shoes: Vans, Chucks, and Reebok Power Shoes.