starting strength gym
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Natural bodybuilding - how to?

Default Natural bodybuilding - how to?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    This will be controversial.

I've been lifting for 3 years, the last two on and off due to other commitments. My stats are 200/140/240 at 100kg 6' 15-17% running 5/3/1 x3 a week with the triumvirate assistance template.

I actually have an interest in natural bodybuilding. Whilst I'm not interested in getting up on stage I'd like to cut my bodyfat down to 10% and bring up my upper body.

As not to throw out the baby with the bathwater I'm looking to do 5/3/1 x4 weekly with the bodybuilder assistance template. Dietwise I plan to use a IIFYM approach with a moderate calorie deficit and some cardio where I can fit it in.

Is this an effective approach? Are there other approaches? Or would there be minimal difference between this and what I'm doing now?

Thanks.

Last edited by Tom Narvaez; 04-19-2012 at 12:45 AM.

Harsh words from Tom (as usual ) but he's right. It would be one thing if you wanted to compete, but if you don't want to compete and just look better naked, start by building as much muscular strnegth and mass as you can (and by the way, unless your lifts are in kilos you are nowhere near strong enough to be talking about bodybuilding) until you can see a muscular body underneath the fluff. Then find a workable, liveable dietary lifestyle that allows you to slowly lose bodyfat (2-4 pounds per month is pretty liveable) while continuing to build strength and muscular size. Tom's recommendation about IF is probably as good as any (although I have no experience with it).

This is, frankly, what many of us are trying to do as a lifestyle - get big and strong using the principles of SS (and TM & 5/3/1 or other intermediate programming), then dial in the bodyfat to a number that suits our aesthetic or competition (PL, OL, MA, strongman, whatever)