starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Project Beastie

Default Project Beastie

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    So I've been doing CF for about 2 years now. In the past 6 months or so, I've been lucky enough to get coached by Kelly Moore and have been discovering the joy of watching my strength progress.
    I'm keeping a training log on CF's boards, but Kelly suggested I start one here, so here goes!

I'm doing 5/3/1 with the extra work- hill sprints, car pushes, more to be added I'm warned.

Tonight did squats
    130x5, 135x3, 160x1.
    160 was easy.
    Then I tried a 20 rep to see what it's all about.
    115x20. Um... was pretty easy.
    Kelly loaded the bar with 130 and didn't tell me. Did that for 12. I could have done more, but I was kind of worried about where it'd end up after the previous work. 12 wasn't too bad either....

Btw-I'm 39/f/140ish/5'4".
    Last edited by stef; 02-23-2010 at 03:50 PM.

Oh yeah- Kelly said I look like I belong in a lifting gym now. That's a big compliment coming from her.

You should have seen me about 6 months ago doing 105x5. Snicker. Guess I had no clue what heavy squatting was about.

I am training with the intention of getting into a raw meet and hopefully going to nationals this year.
    Last edited by Aikislacker; 01-08-2010 at 07:50 PM.

Sounds like you're progressing nicely, keep it up!

Thank you. Honestly, the progress is surprising the hell out of me!

So, I'm glad I refused to do 130 for 20 on the squats yesterday, because the soreness is settling in right now!

Today's work-
    Deadlift 175x5, 185x3, 220x1. Boy. I surprised myself because that 220 came up easily! It felt like 195 used to feel. 225 when I hit it last was a slow grind. This was easy. I am really shocked. YAY 5-3-1!