starting strength gym

Thread: A few questions for Mark...

Default A few questions for Mark...

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello Mark,

I'd like to start off by saying that your contribution to the training world is admirable and is second to none to say the least. I used to be a professional tennis player but had to retire due to a string of injuries, and in about 12 years of intense training, and many a fitness trainer down the line, Starting Strength has taught me more than anything or anyone I've come into contact with throughtout those years.

Anyway, I don't want to waste your time, so let us cut to the chase. As I said, I am no stranger to intense training (be it cardio or the weight room), but after suffering two metacarpal fractures in the last 2 years, one requiring a titanium plate, I've lost quite a bit of form. I'm not saying I was ever strong or ripped or whatever, tennis isn't really a sport that requires extreme strength training; I mean, my 5RMs and PRs are laughable compared to most. But, I have now decided to focus on strength training and hopefully make some huge gains.

I am 21 years old, 6'1" and 163lb
    Squat: 5RM = 165lb
    Bench: 5RM = 145lb
    Deadlift: 5RM = 180lb
    Press: 5RM = 88lb
    Powerclean: 5RM = 110lb

Yes, quite laughable, I know...SO, I have a few questions to ask you, I'll try to keep them as concise as possible: