starting strength gym

Thread: Knee pain and recovery

Default Knee pain and recovery

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi Mark,

I've been doing SS for about 3 months now but haven't been able to squat for 3 weeks because of pain in my left knee. The pain is located on the left (outer) side of the knee, about 2,5 inches from the centre of the kneecap and vertically just above the level of the bottom of the kneecap.

I accumulated the pain over the course of about 2 weeks with it being very minor at first but gradually getting worse until my knee hurt whenever I bent my leg which is when I stopped squatting. After not squatting for 3 weeks and foam rolling and stretching regularly, the pain has gotten fairly mild although I can still feel it when I air-squat and I feel it very clearly if I press on my knee with my finger (with the area affected being very small, <0,5 inches in diameter). However, after I warm up enough, all of the pain disappears so I never actually felt pain at the gym. I'm fairly certain the cause of all this was knee-caving and a lack of stretching and foam rolling which will be fixed in the future.