starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Feeling way to tight

Default Feeling way to tight

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    This is my first post. For my 45th birthday, I decide to get into shape. I started on another program and then found Starting Stength. Good progress for the last few months. At 196 lbs,

Squat 320 3x5
    Dead 250 3x5
    Bench 210 3x5
    Press 125 3x5

Squat still making progress. Dead, injured my lat doing chins and trying to get it to heal. Second stall on bench and second stall on Press. Looking into going into the TM. I have already dropped Wed squats to 80% to keep from feeling so beat up. Ibuprofen is a daily event.

Part of getting into shape was to play with my boys but I just can't seem to loosen up enough to run. They could never beat me in a foot race before I started lifting heavy.

I need advice on how to get the kinks out to feel "loose" again.

I'm 41 and have found that playing racquetball or other sport, sometimes it's basketball or even swimming, that gets me moving a couple of times a week, helps loosen me up. I do these at reltively low intensity, just to get the blood flowing through the muscles. I also make sure to take protein right after my workout, usually with a banana or other fast acting carb.

That said, I'm not trying to establish and world record marks in the lifts. I just want to be able to do the physical stuff I want when I want as I get older, like chop wood, wrestle with my daughter, move furniture for my wife, etc... . The key, for me at least, is to remember the last two sentences while lifting as I'm not 20-something. For reference, I am 238 lb and still on linear progression:

Squat 365 3x5
    Dead 415 3x5
    Incline Bench 225 3x5
    Press 165 3x5

Any chance with a handle like JETSR71 that you're a fellow engineer?

So do you stretch at all?