starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Powerclean sets/reps on 5-3-1

Default Powerclean sets/reps on 5-3-1

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    For you guys who have done this, did you stick with a linear 5x3 sets across, or something 5-3-1ish?

I stayed with the standard linear 5x3 on the split routine, but I'm 45, so the idea of a deload weak and some kind of wave progression is appealing.

Any experiences appreciated.

Drivegas,
    I found switching to the Texas Method a better routine to address recovery. The TM approach reminds me of the story of an old bull and a young bull on a hill ...

I am not good at power cleans, but I am trying to improve my form to be less of a reverse curl. I am having success making good improvements with the TM approach. The Practical Programming book is a big help, especially when you are not as young as you think you are. Good Luck.

I thought the conventional wisdom on this board was that TM is NOT good for older folks, and that twice per week workouts were a middle road between the Novice progression and TM - is that wrong?

Quote Originally Posted by johnnys View Post
    I thought the conventional wisdom on this board was that TM is NOT good for older folks, and that twice per week workouts were a middle road between the Novice progression and TM - is that wrong?
    The usual TM adjustment for us elders is to make Mondays 3x5 instead of 5x5. It works pretty well. I switched to a split routine for the sake of time & I prefer 4 lifting days per week.

The key to successful training as you get older is adjusting the volume to what you can recover from.

I'll post my 5-3-1 progress in six months.

Quote Originally Posted by johnnys View Post