starting strength gym

Thread: Am I a Novice still?

Default Am I a Novice still?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    If lifted the big three, plus OHP and pull-ups/chin-ups for the last 10 years, but A) I've never focused on gaining bodyweight, I've focused on getting a visible 6-pack, and B) I've focused on learning proper technique.

As a result, when it comes to weight on the bar, I'm more of a novice than an intermediate lifter, but when it comes to technique, I'm probably intermediate.

I also have a bachelor in physiotherapy, so I'm really interested in proper technique, I'm not competitive, so I don't care overly much about weight on the bar COMPARED TO OTHER PEOPLE, and I have a master's degree in exercise physiology, so I have a fair understanding of how the body works.

I'm also somewhat confident of my 5RM in deadlift, squat and OHP.

I've been doing a lame attempt at the Starting Strength Novice Program since July, but due to struggling with getting in 3000 kalories pr day (I have gained 15 kg of bodyweight in 4 months though) and I also had a pelvic instability, muscular instability of my left shoulder and a vastus medialis vs lateralis problem (which I've found the solution to now, but haven't fixed yet).

Should I start the Novice program anew in January, starting with my current 5RM in the lifts?

Or proceed to the Advanced Novice program?

Quote Originally Posted by Eyzteinn View Post
    If lifted the big three, plus OHP and pull-ups/chin-ups for the last 10 years, but A) I've never focused on gaining bodyweight, I've focused on getting a visible 6-pack, and B) I've focused on learning proper technique.

As a result, when it comes to weight on the bar, I'm more of a novice than an intermediate lifter, but when it comes to technique, I'm probably intermediate.