starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help me solve my weird back pain, please

Default Help me solve my weird back pain, please

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi! Don't let this wall of text discourage you, because I've included absolutely everything for you to get as clear a picture as possible, but I'll write a short summary in the end for the lazy people. And english is my second language so I'm sorry for any misspelling.

About me: Male, 23 years, 184 cm, 77 kg, started working out in early 2010, but not with heavy compound exercises until the end of the year. I ate Roaccutane from June 2010 to June 2011 (if it has something to do with it).
    My father have had back problems throughout his life and my mother has rheumatoid arthritis and another painful disease (which I always forget the name of).

The pains origination: I worked as an industrial carpenter (fairly active job) when I started training with heavy compound exercises. The pain started to come sometime during the late spring of 2011, when I began to reach relatively big weights. (Also worth mentioning is that I became unemployed in March, so I spent quite a lot of time in front of my computer.) Squatted around 5x80 kg and around 100 kg in deadlift. I progressed very quickly, as SS & SL5x5 say that beginners should do, and as I felt I could handle.

The pain: The pain comes immediately after a finished set when I stand up and slowly bend forward and bend the thoracic spine. It's a weird aching pain, almost as if you stretch a muscle to far but more painful than normally and almost tingly. It's somewhere around here: http://img545.imageshack.us/img545/9246/rygg1.jpg
    It feels as if it is between the m. erector spinae and the spine. The pain disappears after a few minutes.

This is the exercises that provoke the pain (the worst is first):
    1. Front squat
    2. Press
    3. Squat