starting strength gym

Thread: Diet composition advice for strength athlete

Default Diet composition advice for strength athlete

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello Jordan,

I am a weightlifter looking for diet advice. There is no particular reason for this other than that I want to see if a structured approach to nutrition might accelerate my progress since I want to train more seriously in the coming months leading up to a competition. So far I have very little experience with meal planning and I have no clue what my macros have been so far. My goal would be to maintain my training bodyweight and optimize diet composition to fuel my lifting efforts and strength progress.

Bodyweight: 98 kg (-94 kg weight-class)
    Bf%: ~18.53% (best guess method from here)
    Advancement: Intermediate trainee
    Current lifts: Squat: 230 kg x 3, Press: 80 kg x 3, Deadlift: 225 kg x 1, Bench-press: 140 kg x 1

A recommendation for appropriate macros would help a lot already. Any other info you would like to give is appreciated as well.

Thank you for doing this Q&A!

How many days a week are you training, how far out are you from the meet, and how serious do you want to get?

Quote Originally Posted by Jordan Feigenbaum View Post
    How many days a week are you training, how far out are you from the meet, and how serious do you want to get?
    Thank you for taking my question!

I am going to start the next training block with 3x per week training and increase towards 4 days eventually. Monday is going to be volume strength work, Friday is intensity work, Tuesday and Thursday will be devoted to the quick lifts and front-squats.

The meet I am training for is probably going to be in fall, so many months out. I will do 1-2 minor competitions in the mean time for fun, experience and maybe qualifying purposes. But I do not intend to cut training volume/intensity for those.