starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting Strength Diet

Default Starting Strength Diet

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi all,

A friend of mine got me into SS. I'm a newbie lifter. Age 27, 6'0" 200lbs, a little chubby, but not obese. I am thinking of using this diet and would like some feedback as to

1. Is this healthy?
    2. Is this enough food?
    3. Can you recommend alternatives for variety?

0530 25G Whey in Skim milk
    0600 Lift
    0730 25G Whey + 4 eggs + 4 strips Turkey bacon + 1 cup of slow oats (with apple, cinn, etc)
    1200 Foreman grill chicken + 1/2 Yam + 1 glass of juiced kale, carrots, apple & ginger
    0500 25G Whey
    0600 2 Tilapia filets + another juice + 1/2 Yam

Quote Originally Posted by tesseract View Post

1. Is this healthy?
    2. Is this enough food?
    3. Can you recommend alternatives for variety?
    1) Looks fine to me. I'm not a big fan of juiced veggies, but it won't kill you.
    2) Maybe initially, but I'd like to see you add another 25g of whey at 0500 + 1/2 C of oats, and then add milk as you can without getting fat (maybe 1-2 glasses at a time).
    3) Sure.

Protein: lean meats (all), fat free cottage cheese, greek yogurt, pork loin, sausage (chicken, turkey, etc), milk, whey, protein supps, jerky, deer, mahi-mahi, swordfish, tuna, etc.

carbs- potatoes, rice, oats, beans, fruit, veggies, carb supplements

fats- nuts, nut butters, oils, avocado

Quote Originally Posted by Jordan Feigenbaum View Post
    I'm not a big fan of juiced veggies, but it won't kill you.
    If I could butt in with a quick question.....What about veggies not run through a juicer, but through a Vita Mix? (Leaving all the pulp in the final product.)