starting strength gym

Thread: Possibly time for a diet break?

Default Possibly time for a diet break?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I have been trying to lose body fat since May 2012, and seem to have hit a bit of a wall the last two months. I'm wondering if it isn't time for a bit of a break, (2-3 months) while eating at maintenance before taking another 8-12 weeks to get to sub 15% body fat?

Background:
    Height: 6' 1"
    Starting Weight: 220 on 5/13/2012
    Current Weight: 184-186 @17-18% body fat
    Goals: 1): get to sub 15% body fat to begin slowly adding weight again (short term goal)
    2): get to 190 at 15% body fat (intermediate)
    3): get to ~220 at 15% body fat (long term)

I graduated college weight a fairly sloppy 220 despite lifting 3x a week with consistency. The issue was a poor diet and drinking 2000+ calories in beer 4-7 times a week.

After graduation I cut out all drinking for 2 months and dropped from 220 to 208 in 2 months. I then took a short diet break while visiting Germany, Austria, and France for 10 days. During this time I managed to maintain my weight because I was walking 7+ miles a day sight-seeing.

By August 1, I was 199.6. I continued to make fairly steady, albeit slow progress in weight loss and by the September I was 191. From September to November 1, I only lost 2 pounds while tracking my calorie intake and hitting 2100 per day.

During November, I hovered from 187-188 while tracking calories and performing steady state cardio 2x per week and lifting 3x per week. I swapped sprints for the steady state in January and was able to push my weight down to 184 by February, however I have hovered here for about a month and am wondering if I may be in need of a diet break.

Current Diet and training: