starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cutting the dreaded machines...

Default Cutting the dreaded machines...

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I've been doing strength work for about 2 years now, doing barbell work interspersed with machine work. Lately I've been really dreading the machine stuff... I just find it boring and it doesn't feel worth it. Meanwhile, I love the barbell work.

I've been making my way through Starting Strength volume III. I love it, it is fantastic. You mention many times that machines are quite redundant... I'm just afraid that in cutting the machine work that I am doing that I will be missing an essential part of my workouts.

Here's what I've been doing, prescribed by a trainer that recently moved away. Is there anything that I can cut out or sub for other things? The things that I've starred are the things I'm not that excited about...

DAY 1
    ---
    Squats (5x5reps)
    **Leg Press (3x10reps)**
    **Hamstring Curl machine (3x10reps)**
    Toes to Bar (3x10reps)
    Knees to Elbow w/ 30lb dumbell (3x10reps)

DAY 2
    ----
    Bench Press (5x5reps)
    Weighted Tricep Dips w/ 55lbs (5x5reps)
    **Pec Fly machine (3x10reps)**

DAY 3
    ----
    Deadlift (5x5reps)
    3 different kinds of pullups (3rounds of each, 10 reps = 90 total)
    **Cable Rows (3x10reps)**
    **Lat Pulldown (3x10reps)**

DAY 4
    ---
    Press (5x5reps)
    Push Press (5x5reps)
    Power Cleans (5x5reps)
    **Dumbell side lateral raises (3 rounds of pyramid sets)**

In terms of end goals, I just want good, all around strength, and to feel the best I can in my body.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Have at it, boys.

I wondered how you were going to handle this.