starting strength gym

Thread: Squatting with a plica?

Exclamation Squatting with a plica?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey guys, I have a medial plica in my right knee that makes an odd POP during the eccentric phase of squats right before I hit parallel.

It is fine on the up part of the lift. It does not hurt when lifting but it sure is disconcerting. That part of the knee feels a bit irritated most of the time but no worse lifting.

I am seeing a PT who also lifts and he suggested avoiding loaded exercises that make the plica snap over the femoral condyle...

Any thoughts on this programming wise? Should I leave out squats and just do deads, squat partial depth, or go ahead and squat with the popping?

My form has been checked here and is fine.

Thoughts welcome, especially those who have had a plica or coached someone who has.

Thanks!

I'm afraid I have very little experience with this, and no experience in a coaching context. Knee plica falls under the rubric of what an emergency physician would consider an "internal derangement of the knee," with referral to sports med or ortho.

That said: squatting partial depth is not the answer. Your PT is just talking out his ass. Ask him about the large longitudinal studies of long-term outcome in patients with knee plica who squat heavy below parallel. That's right: there aren't any. It might make your knee worse. It might not. Popping is not the problem. If your knee wants to pop, let it pop. Inflammation and pain from the plica rubbing on your femur, on the other hand, are problems, and there is a potential for things to get worse.

Your options are:

Option 1. Don't squat. Wouldn't be my first choice, but does give you time to explore Option 3 (below).

Option 2. Continue squatting to depth, ignore the pop, and See What Happens. Three scenarios obtain: