In November 2014, I went down to my old stomping grounds of Champaign-Urbana, IL for a Starting Strength seminar. This is a brief retrospective of my experiences.

Without going into too much detail about the seminar itself, I will just say that it was life changing in two ways.

1.) I improved my form and understanding of the physics on all 5 lifts we performed.

2.) I gained incredible insight into a great means of teaching the lifts, which I am seeing potential uses for in my line of work as a teacher.

The material we were presented was very familiar, but somehow made more sense than ever before. For me it was the use of real physics that blew my mind. I studied Electrical Engineering at U of IL and was looking to find a hole in the physics explanation. Instead, I found myself enlightened on a level I didn't think would happen. I now understand the lifts much better since having the lifts explained to me in physics.

The instructors at the seminar were also incredibly helpful. I was super impressed not only by them but by the other attendees. Everyone was very respectful and open to listen, learn, and share. It made me realize just how much more there is to know about weight lifting. That's a good thing.

What has happened in my training since then?

Hip pain? Gone!

After 2 years of dealing with pain in my right hip, it was nearly gone after just one session at the seminar. Years of bad habits and a conglomeration of 'tips' from different sources had my squat all out of whack. The hip pain was obviously from incorrect form. It took until my second to last set before I finally started to get my body to comply. After getting my 5RM on squat during the seminar (245 lbs at 215 lbs BW), my hip was already feeling better...to my amazement!

The following week I started a fresh run of Starting Strength. In the months leading up to the seminar I was mostly running and lifting light weights in an effort buy time until I could find help for my hip.