starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The Truth

Default The Truth

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    by Jim Steel

I am a college strength coach, and I am struggling. I am struggling with the state of strength training today. Whether it is training athletes or training the general population, there are a few basic tenets – commandments if you will – that have been thrown out the door and been replaced by soft workouts. I have gone back and forth with myself about either honestly expressing my opinions about the whole damn thing or holding it all in and risking a stroke. I believe that I have held this in long enough. So here goes: the truth as I see it.

Full Article

Resources Page

Jim is certainly preaching to the converted on this website. I hope his Op finds a wider audience.

I never realized my alma mater had such a badass as strength coach.. a 2000+ total, it sounds like they are in very good hands. I have to believe after reading the article that Jim is a major reason behind last year's football title.

hell yeah, the Bataan Death March occured in my country!

Default Solid read

Thanks for posting.

Living in a globo-gym I'm happy that the majority spend their time flexing their elbows and watching tv on a cardio machine but it's surprises me that athletics has fallen prey to this silliness.

Results tend to speak for themselves. It makes one ask the question, Are athletes performing well in their sports despite poor strength training? OR Even more sacriligeous Is strength training relevant to sports performance?

I personally like being strong but I've always been a crappy athlete with little or no talent. My observation is that talented athletes are often talented despite their training practices.

Still I like to squat and it doesn't take much talent so I'm pretty safe in a power rack.