starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Prescription of Strength Training For Treating Depression

Default The Prescription of Strength Training For Treating Depression

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    by David Puder and Amul Shah

When I prescribe strength training for my depressed patients, they are often surprised. They have never heard of the relationship between physical strength and psychological well-being.

Read article

I don't think about it much now, but before I started training, I would get long and, sometimes, quite severe bouts of depression. This was especially true during the winter months. I've been on meds for depression before, but they had side effects - especially when you're getting off them.

Although I still get a hint of depression now and then, I can say that I'm pretty much "cured" of depression. The only side effect is a 500+ lb deadlift. I can live with that.

Nothing in the world better for my mental health than heavy lifting. Anxiety, general nervousness about things, stress, etc. just leaves my body as I challenge myself under the barbell. It really is the best “medicine”.

Quote Originally Posted by irongeek View Post
    I don't think about it much now, but before I started training, I would get long and, sometimes, quite severe bouts of depression. This was especially true during the winter months. I've been on meds for depression before, but they had side effects - especially when you're getting off them.

Although I still get a hint of depression now and then, I can say that I'm pretty much "cured" of depression. The only side effect is a 500+ lb deadlift. I can live with that.
    That's awesome.