starting strength gym

Thread: "Quality of Life and Barbell Training for Women" An Alternative Opinion, with Love

Post "Quality of Life and Barbell Training for Women" An Alternative Opinion, with Love

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Oh, man. I was a bit surprised to see a SS post with ‘Women’ in the title. As a female Coach, I am out there fighting the good fight, trying to get more vaginas in racks. (I said vagina, so now I suppose you’re listening.) I’ve read the books, I’ve read the articles, I listen to the podcasts, I flew to Texas for StrengthCon; hear me when I say, I am NOT a hater. Generally, it’s a tough sell to women; the articles and videos, while brilliant, are geared toward men both in content and language. Women, their stats and considerations, generally appear to be an afterthought. ‘Her’ and ‘she’ are few and far between, unintended or otherwise. It’s difficult, at best, to use much of the material to sell strength to the less male.

Why is this podcast sitting on doilies, I wonder? Where is the SS Intro music? Will the girly violins be replacing the iconic SS intro/outro indefinitely or was that intended to appeal to double X chromosome ears? Did it need to be read by a woman in order to appeal to women? Did someone actually sit down and make that choice whilst simultaneously selecting ever so elegant cursive font for the title on YouTube? Food for thought.