starting strength gym

Thread: A little coaching experience this summer

Default A little coaching experience this summer

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Greetings,

I'm a graduate student and the summer is probably going to have more downtown time for me so I think I want to try to get some coaching experience over the summer. I have access to the University of Tennessee, Knoxville students recreation center. It has a good Weight room with legit equipment lots of platforms and racks. The thing with this is that I'll have to be careful since they don't technically allow outside trainers to work there. I also have a gym close to my house in the sleepy town of Middlesboro, KY. Also a quality facility but the issue here is that its a small town where everyone is poor and nobody knows what SS is. The upside is that they have a very lax policy on Trainers training there as long as the client pays to use the gym as well. Since I started training at the university gym I've had the occasional bro ask for technique advice. This gives me hope that I might finally be entering the earliest stages of "become the strongest guy in the gym and people will ask". I had tried to start coaching a couple years ago, but it ended in an epic flop. This was probably a combination of inexperience and me being 325 lbs at 6ft 2in. Now I've lost 40 lbs and have access to thousands of university students who need to get strong.

1) How do I sell myself effectively? What is the best way to advertise?
    2) How many clients should I aim to coach? I was thinking start with 1 and work my way up, but how many max?
    3) How much should I charge for a session of coaching? If the answer is 0 then that's fine.
    4) Any other tips, thoughts, or advice?

Thanks