starting strength gym

Thread: Obtaining Clients

Default Obtaining Clients

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    To those who were personal trainers and are now SSCs, how did you go about obtaining clients to teach them the Starting Strength method?

I am a personal trainer/gym manager with ambitions to someday become an SSC, and while my ambitions are big, my client base isn't... What were your methods/approaches to not only obtaining clients, but getting them to buy in in to the SS method?

How did you get to the point where you were able to coach all different kinds of people?

There are many ways to approach this, but you have an advantage actually being at a gym. Try gradually building a rapport with people there, find out what their goals are, and then discuss how SS can help them meet those goals. If you show you are invested in the clients even though you aren't actively training them and it will go a long way. The other thing to do is get your friends and family in and train them. You will need as much experience coaching as you can get so that you can retain actual clients down the road and you can use the sessions with your friends and family to get some of this experience but also to generate promotional material (photos, videos) to advertise on social media.

You didn't ask for non-SSCs, but only one has responded, so take my opinion for what it's worth.

Quote Originally Posted by Isaac Medina View Post
    To those who were personal trainers and are now SSCs, how did you go about obtaining clients to teach them the Starting Strength method?

I am a personal trainer/gym manager with ambitions to someday become an SSC, and while my ambitions are big, my client base isn't... What were your methods/approaches to not only obtaining clients, but getting them to buy in in to the SS method?