starting strength gym

Thread: Making the switch

Default Making the switch

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi all,

My name's Peter, I'm a 39-year old software developer looking to make a career switch into coaching. Currently I'm employed full-time and we have a 6 month old baby, so time is rather limited but I'm determined to make this happen. I've started coaching my wife and other family members for free. The thing I'm wondering about the most is how to get experience with as many clients as possible.

I have a home gym with limited space which would allow me to train one, maybe two lifters at a time. Since a workout session would take more than an hour, with my full-time work (and my own workouts!) I don't see many clients would be able to train at my house three days in a week. I could of course start giving lots of introductory sessions, assuming that people have either a home gym or are able to go to a gym in the neighbourhood, but then you don't really have an ongoing coach-client relationship, nor a good path to a sustainable business. What's a good approach here? Have them lift once a week at my place and the other two at home/another gym (perhaps asking them to make videos the other two days so we can go over those when they're here)?

Eventually I want to drop my current job to part-time and eventually make a full switch, which would allow more time for trainees to come over (and even rent a proper space), but until I have a good client base that's financially impossible.

Buy or rent an old building with heat, light, concrete floor, and a restroom (or outhouse). Put in a couple of squat racks and some other equipment. Let your clients train there for a small fee. Eventually build up from there.

The Bill Starr Chronicles: Fielder's Shed | Jim Moser

A little late to the game, but ill add my two cents.