starting strength gym
Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Training for Powerlifting at Planet Fitness (I’m not joking!)

Default Training for Powerlifting at Planet Fitness (I’m not joking!)

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Disclaimer: I know that this could be a complete disaster. I don’t have any expectations. I’m just trying to have fun while making the most of my current gym situation.

That said, thanks for stopping by! I’m 44 years old, 5’8”, and 210.6 lbs (on Sunday morning). I’ve been a member of this site since the Strengthmill days, and I’ve had logs on here before. I decided to log this experiment mostly because I haven’t seen anyone try this before (I’m sure there’s good reason for that. )

I’ve been competing in powerlifting since 2008, all USAPL, and since 2011 all “raw” (belt, knee sleeves, wrist wraps). My best competition lifts are:
    SQ - 240.0 kg (529 lbs)
    BP - 147.5 kg (325 lbs)
    DL - 262.5 kg (579 lbs)
    TOTAL - 645 kg (1422 lbs)

Most of those numbers (SQ, BP, TOTAL) happened in 2018 at a body weight of 223 lbs. Since then, work and life helped drive a regression in my lifting and eating. Then Covid-19 came about, and gyms shut down. Like many people - maybe some of you - I didn’t train for 3 months as I have no equipment at home, and I quickly got bored with push-ups and pull-ups. When gyms in Baltimore were allowed to reopen, my gym decided to remain closed, and still hasn’t opened. That gym is 5-7 minutes from home, open 24 hours, and has a rack, bench, and allows deadlifts. Because of my work schedule, I really need a place that is close and open anytime. (Side note: I’m a mailman, and things are so hectic now that a 10 hour day feels like I got off early)