starting strength gym
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Mailman Muscle: Story of The Bodybuilding Powerlifter

Default Mailman Muscle: Story of The Bodybuilding Powerlifter

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Peace everyone! Long time, no see. I miss keeping an online training log and engaging with others about their training and mine. It seems like these spaces have all but disappeared. I am glad this one is still going strong.

Background/Bio

I’m 47 years old. I have been training for just about 20 years. Lifting started as a dare from my wife (married 22 years, 3 children). We were watching an LL Cool J video, and I said that if I got to 200 pounds at 10% bodyfat, then I could look like him. She said I couldn’t do it, but she would love to see it. Challenge accepted! The fact that I was a slim 157 pounds at a height of 5’8” (more like 5’7.something”) was a minor obstacle, or so I thought. From the beginning, my training was comprised almost entirely of compound barbell and dumbbell lifts.

Two years or so after I started lifting, I began the mailman chapter of my life. That’s the root of this log’s name, plus my username on YouTube and elsewhere. By that time, I had gotten myself up to 190 pretty lean pounds. By then, I had learned just how lean 10% really is - I was NOT that lean, but was in good shape. I got on the streets for my daily regiment of what I call “urban hiking” right around Memorial Day of 2006. By Labor Day, I was down to 165 lbs before I figured out how to stop wasting away. ​😳 It was like I had to start over, plus I had the new variable of hiking several miles per day to pay the bills. It took me another year and a half to get back to the size I was when I started, which was roughly 10 pounds away from my initial goal of 200 pounds. I realized that I would need something else to train for.

Enter Powerlifting