starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Falling Test Levels, A Run At Masters State Records, And A Country For Old Lifters

Default Falling Test Levels, A Run At Masters State Records, And A Country For Old Lifters

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    It's been almost a year since I started training again. I'd taken a lot of time off due to expatriation, juggling relationships that all ultimately failed, and just being injured and burned out. 18 months ago at the start of 2014 I was between 150 and 155 lbs of withered limbs and growing paunch. My first session back I squatted 185 for five and I benched 145 for five. I've since worked my way back up to squatting 315 for a hard triple with rest-pause and benching 215 for a hard double. I've also gained almost 25 lbs and am leaner than I was at 150.

I'm starting yet another log because I have skipped over two meets I'd planned to enter. But now I have a longer-term goal and some traction. I will be competing as a Master lifter next year when I turn 40. There I will finally be competitive and with another six months to train will certainly be able to make a mark on some of the records in the Florida USAPL Masters 83 kilo class. I skipped one meet in 2014 because I had to move several states away. I am skipping the 2015 meet right here in Orlando because not only has a nationally competitive lifter obliterated any chance I had at a record, but also because I had no hope of hitting even my own previous strength levels in time for the meet.

So now my much more realistic goal is to take the next 6-18 months to get stronger and compete sometime in 2016. And with this new focus comes a new thread log.