starting strength gym

Thread: Back Extensions + Leg Curls = GHR?

Question Back Extensions + Leg Curls = GHR?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    At first, Mr. Rippetoe: thank you that you have wrote down your knowledge. A friend of mine has recommended your books and i am just ... amazed
    (to much strange things are trained in german gyms)

I have used the search function regarding back(hyper) extensions + leg curls but didn't find a answer.

My gym has only a 45° device for back extensions ... with resistance bands or dumbbells it is quiet OK. But if i understood you correctly GHR are better (?). So my question is: is it wise to add machine leg curls to put more stress on the Biceps femoris?

Additional information: I am a beginner with 3 months on Starting Strength, doing Onus Wunsler program right now. A beginner after 3 months because i train with a negative energy balance. I know that this is not very effective but i was very very very... obese but finally getting to a feasible body weight so that i hopefully can increase food intake again, soon.

Sorry for my bad English and best regards from Germany
    heuro

Hi heuro,

At your training stage there is no need to isolate the biceps femoris. The compound barbell lifts will do plenty to strengthen the hamstrings without adding leg curls. Think about the body as a system rather than a collection of separate components.

Good work on your weight loss - hope that progress continues for you.

Yup, dont bother with either of these at all. Just focus on normal deadlifts & squats.

ok, tank you for the advice ..
    To put some additional numbers to classify my state of training:
    I train since june of last year, but did some stupid things before i started with starting strength. Stupid things like 10-12 exercises each workout with 2-4 sets each 12-20 reps. That was the recommendation by the trainer in my gym.