starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: So confused about programming

Default So confused about programming

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Background info: 36 years old, 5'10" 210 lbs. I've been lifting for three years with no athletic past. I log here. First SS and them TM up to a 405 squat but then spent pretty much all of 2016 just coasting. I cut with Robert Santana and did HLM, and then fatfucked myself again. Skipped some weeks here and there, haven't PRed in ages. (Well, I randomly deadlifted 425 one day a few months ago. But now I can barely get 350 up.)

Just now I re-LPed back up to about a 360 squat and then decided to switch to Texas Method......then I saw the threads here shitting all over TM, so now I'm thoroughly confused. It sounds like the complaint is it's not enough bench and pulling volume, which I've felt like before. Reading PPST, the four day splits sound like even less pressing work, everything is just done twice a week. I'd like to get past 400 on my squat and deadlift and past 225 for reps on my bench. I mean it's been three years.

I would like to try a four day split. I've been doing everything on a three day cycle forever.

It sounds like I can:

Squat: three times a week, following Texas Method for 4-6 weeks and then maybe shift into HLM (I figure just drop intensity day and start doing medium day)

Bench: three times a week (volume, then CGBP I guess?, then intensity)

Press twice a week?

Tricep accessory work once a week

Pulls: a DL alternate (RDL, lower weight volume DLs, power cleans, I dunno), then pullups for the middle of the week, then deadlift at the end.

I feel like this is a mess. Not sure where to start. Maybe it would make more sense to just to HLM and try to cram all this in.