Thread: Getting back to the gym

Default Getting back to the gym

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    26 years old
    6'1
    185 pounds

I have been training for a few years but never did the program properly.

Current lifts after a training once every 10 days for almost two years now:

Squat 5RM: 225x5

Deadlift 5RM: around 325

Press 5RM: 120

Bench press: I haven't done the exercise for as long as I can remember.

I don't if this is relevant to determine if I am still a novice but when I first step into a gym a couple years ago I was 150 pounds.

I have a very busy schedule since 2015... working almost 90 hours a week... often not sleeping.

I'm getting depressed losing muscle and gaining fat now though and I'm considering giving Starting Strength a serious run.

Is this a good program for me? (although I'm pretty sure of the answer I'll get)

What are some numbers to aim for at the end of the run?

What do you guys think my starting weights should be?

Thanks.

The first thing you need to do is apply my life motto: Work To Live, Don't Live To Work

you can make it work and yes the program is a good fit

Quote Originally Posted by Ross View Post
    26 years old
    6'1
    185 pounds
    This is good. Do you have any health problems? If not you will have a lot more fun once you're 6'1" 220lbs

I have been training for a few years but never did the program properly.

Current lifts after a training once every 10 days for almost two years now:
    This means about a total of 70 trips to the gym. In two years. That's not training. To put that into context, a high level weightlifter is in the gym like 9 times a week. So congrats on have a relatively level of detrained strength.

Squat 5RM: 225x5

Deadlift 5RM: around 325

Press 5RM: 120

Bench press: I haven't done the exercise for as long as I can remember.