starting strength gym

Thread: Starting Strength in the high school

Default Starting Strength in the high school

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    All-

This is my first post so if this is covered somewhere else in the forums please let me know.

Moving forward, I have recently began the LP at 36 years old. I am a middle/high school football coach and since reading the book and starting the LP I see now many of the problems with training high school athletes. Unfortunately, I have been guilty of some of these poor teaching practices by high school coaches. However I am attempting to make a change in our school. I will be responsible for the off-season/summer workouts for our middle school players. I think this will pay huge dividends in the future.

To make a long story short, I am NOT a certified SS coach. I have read the book, I feel confident in the techniques taught in the book, as well as my ability to convey the information to the kids. Have any of you attempted to put the knowledge gained through your experience using the LP to use with training middle/high school athletes?

On the other hand, could this attempt be considered "malpractice" as mentioned by Rip in his book when referring to the poor practices of high school s&c coaches?

Any and all info is appreciated.

You do not need permission to give out advice. Most people here are not SS certified and learndby reading the book.

You should follow your gut instinct on whether to go through with it or not.

I have given advice on lifting weights to people from both sexes anywhere from age 17-65. None of the people I have advised have reported any injury as of yet but they do thank me for the advice.