starting strength gym

Thread: Beginner programming

Default Beginner programming

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I started lifting in September but didn't start training seriously until December. My goal is to increase my strength in bench press, military press, deadlifts and squats.
    My weight is 160lbs and my maxes are 140lbs,80lbs,240lbs,200lbs which fall into the beginner category. I talked to a personal trainer about increasing strength and he gave me a 5/3/1 full body program. My bench increased by 10lbs, squat increased by 20lbs and deadlift increased by 20lbs over a period of two months. I am wondering if I could make faster progress switching to SS as weight increases every session instead of every month.

Thoughts?

Short answer: Yes.

Longer answer: Very likely, in the absence of relevant information such as height, sex, age, and diet. My wild-assed-guess is you're got a solid few months on SS before switching to an intermediate program.

Quote Originally Posted by I_iz_a_fatass View Post
    Short answer: Yes.

Longer answer: Very likely, in the absence of relevant information such as height, sex, age, and diet. My wild-assed-guess is you're got a solid few months on SS before switching to an intermediate program.
    I'm a guy 19, 5'10 and on a bulking diet (3200+ calories day)

At 5'10 and 160lbs, you should definitely be doing SS, not 5-3-1, and probably eating more than that. How has your weight changed over the last two months?

Quote Originally Posted by Ayymate View Post
    I talked to a personal trainer about increasing strength and he gave me a 5/3/1 full body program.?
    I would ask him why he thought this was appropriate, and if I didn't like the response (and I think it's unlikely he will offer a good one, because I cannot fathom what it would be), I would get a new trainer.