starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Programming for the novice program

Default Programming for the novice program

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi everyone, this is my first post here. I've been doing starting strength for 2 months now and I've been happy with my progress. I'm 6', 170 lbs, 35 years old and I was a total novice when I started. My problem is the volume is starting to be too much and I need to change something, I'm just not sure the best way to do it. I've been doing the lp back squats every workout and alternating deadlifts and cleans. I'm happy with my upper body progress, but the squats and deadlifts have stalled. I missed my second squat workout at 190 lbs. I deadlifted 240x5 then missed the last workout because I felt like I just hadn't recovered enough. So here's my question. In practical programming he says to add front squats on the Wednesday workout as a light day. Should I add those in, or can I just do a light day with back squats on Wednesday on add weight like usual on Monday and Friday? For deadlifts I know I need to cut back now, but I wasn't sure what to replace it with. I don't have access to a GHD, so should I do Romanian deadlifts or good mornings and alternate like in starting strength? Or should I do what he has in practical programming, which is deadlifts once every 2 weeks and add in a pull up day as well? I have been doing chin ups every other workout already. Thanks for your advice.

I would recommend that you try putting on some more body weight. It's very likely that being only 170 pounds at 6' is the limiting factor.

Quote Originally Posted by baloeb View Post