starting strength gym

Thread: Training

Default Training

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Brent Carter: hey I have a quick question regarding training, I’m currently running Texas method I’ve been on it since December. I only ran the lp novice 3 months as Ive been lifting for 6 years experience, I just started learning the ss squat method from my friend who put me on to it. Form and technique getting better, but my question is I’m current 5’6@135 and squatting 5x5@275 idk if I should scratch Texas and pursue HLM? Or do I start from complete scratch and do a novice LP for an entire year or will that not work? Not sure what to do looking for your help, value your opinion thank you.

Brent Carter is offline Owner, Starting Strength Dallas
    Starting Strength Coach

If you can lift moderately heavy (for you) recover and do it again a little heavier 48-72hours later you are a novice and should be doing the novice program. Once doing the novice LP you don't stop doing it based on a certain time frame. You stop doing the novice LP when you simply can't keep doing the novice LP.

Also you are underweight.... Significantly underweight.

Quote Originally Posted by Brent Carter View Post
    If you can lift moderately heavy (for you) recover and do it again a little heavier 48-72hours later you are a novice and should be doing the novice program. Once doing the novice LP you don't stop doing it based on a certain time frame. You stop doing the novice LP when you simply can't keep doing the novice LP.

Also you are underweight.... Significantly underweight.
    Where should I start with weights? I agree about body weight too. How much rest between sets?