starting strength gym

Thread: Not Quite...

Default Not Quite...

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I linked to a "Beginner Powerbuilding" variation on an LP a few months back that still focuses on a Linear Progression model but with a bit more emphasis on upper body strength/size. A few guys said screw it, give it a try... and so I did. Keep in mind I was not a total beginner when I started this. Fast-forward about 4 months and I am feeling like I am nearing the end. I am feeling beat up and definitely need to think about trying something else very soon. Here is what I did and my stats as a result:

*Max rest of 3 minutes between working sets
    Day 1:
    Bench (or Press (alternate each workout)): 4x6 (AMRAP last set)
    Squat: 3x5
    Pendlay Rows: 4x6 (AMRAP last set)
    Chins: Body-weight AMRAP for 2-3 sets
    Curls (or Close-grip Push-ups (alternate each workout)): 2 sets 8-10
    Supersetted w/
    Cable external rotations: 2 sets

Day 2:
    Press (or Bench): 4x6 (AMRAP last set)
    Deadlift: 1x5
    Lat Pulls: 4x6 (AMRAP last set)
    Kroc Rows: 1-2x20 or AMRAP
    Close-grip Push-ups (or Curls): 2 sets of 8-10
    Supersetted w/
    Face-pulls: 2 sets

Day 3:
    Bench (or Press): 4x6 (AMRAP last set)
    Squat: 3x5
    Pendlay Rows: 4x6 (AMRAP last set)
    Weighted Chins: Ladder method (Currently 6x4)
    Curls (or Close-grip Push-ups): 2 sets of 8-10
    Supersetted w/
    Band Pull-aparts: 2 sets
    6 25-yard Prowler Sprints

I am now 237-238lbs at 6'1.5" and my lifts are as follows: Press: 165 4x6 (hit 185x1 after this the other day) | Bench (16" narrow grip): 230 4x6 | Pendlay Rows: 250 4x6 | Squat: 280 3x5 | Deadlift: 370 x 5 (Pulled 440 for a single at the end of last week's session) | DB Rows w/ 105's for 13 reps | Weighted Chins w/ 40lbs on Rings for 6x3.