starting strength gym

Thread: Old man HLM

Default Old man HLM

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi, i'm a late novice anticipating the transition to intermediate programming (6'2, 220lbs, 37). I think a short period of slow dieting on HLM would be appropriate for me, after which i imagine i'll settle into a 4-day split. Has anyone tried Andy Baker's old-man tm-flavoured hlm, as described Heavy-Light-Medium | Andy Baker ? Looks promising.

I've run HLM at age 50, but I do more volume than the "Older Client" setup Andy mentions in that article. Maybe older means 70?

I.e. I like 4x5 on heavy day, but sometimes as ramping sets rather than sets across.

53, just started a cut and running HLM but with more volume than mentioned in this article. 1 top set and 4 backoffs (5%) on heavy day, 2x5 on light and 3x5 on medium.

When I wrote that article the client example was 67 years old I believe. All HLM programs are templates and models and exact sets/reps etc can and probably should vary from one person to the next. Adding or subtracting a set here or there, adjusting %'s, etc is always expected. That being said, that particular model and the concept behind it is effective.

Thanks guys, looks like i can expect to tolerate more volume. As i add volume to medium day, should the intensity come down so that it doesn't become another heavy day? Or should i keep a couple of heavy triples and add backoff sets?

Quote Originally Posted by convergentsum View Post
    Thanks guys, looks like i can expect to tolerate more volume. As i add volume to medium day, should the intensity come down so that it doesn't become another heavy day? Or should i keep a couple of heavy triples and add backoff sets?