starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Program for a teen

Question Program for a teen

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi, i earlier made a post with another title where i had my own program and i asked for your opinions.
    Now i am asking for a program with strength work and bodybuilding/hypertrophy work. I want exercises like pull ups, curls and tricep extensions for example, not just deadlifts and rows or just bench i would like some more exercises for that too and maybe shoulders
    I can work out maximum 4-5 times a week but i would prefer the 4 days instead of 5.
    For my lifts i am a beginner but for my age those lifts are intermediate (I think) (I am 14)

You're probably going to get the same answers. The whole "Starting Strength" thing is pretty big on this website.

Man, running a linear progression on the compound lifts as a teen has got to be the best thing in the world. It'll work better and go farther at that time than any other point in a person's life. I suppose it's hard to see it when you're in it, but looking at it from my mid 40s, all I can say is please just do the program and then bring in the rest of the stuff later. Please, please, please, just do that.

he's not going to do it.
    almost no teenager can stand to do only 4-5 exercises 3 times a week.
    (on their own in a public gym setting).
    this is a fact.

OP do IceCreamFitness 5x5

Quote Originally Posted by Jeff Illingworth View Post
    Man, running a linear progression on the compound lifts as a teen has got to be the best thing in the world. It'll work better and go farther at that time than any other point in a person's life. I suppose it's hard to see it when you're in it, but looking at it from my mid 40s, all I can say is please just do the program and then bring in the rest of the stuff later. Please, please, please, just do that.