starting strength gym

Thread: Thoughts on Maintenance

Default Thoughts on Maintenance

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey all,

I am currently finishing a round of Texas Method and I really need to get cardio back into my life. I love committing to strength programs but I work as a firefighter and cardiovascular endurance is just too important to my well being.

That said, I would like to maintain the numbers I am putting up. Reading about maintenance the general consensus is to simply reduce volume. I am looking for some input on staying with texas or switching to a different program.

My current thought is:

Monday

Drop squats to a 2x5 instead of 5x5
    Drop Bench/OHP to a 2x5 as well

Wednesday
    Reduce squat to 1x5
    Reduce Bench/OHP to a 2x5 or even a 1x5
    Keep pull ups the same

Friday
    Keep the squat 1x5 or just reduce a few reps
    Keep bench/OHP at a 1-3 rep max
    1x5 Deadlift (moved from monday)

I'm 5'9" 183 pounds if it matters.

Current lifts:
    Squat 5x5 @ 335
    Bench 5x5 @ 225
    OHP 5x5 @ 155
    Deadlift 1x5 @ 385

Any advice, tips, or shared experiences would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Use the max effort method so you can maintain and possibly progress while allowing cardio

Monday
    Squat or variation to a 1rm plus 2 backoffs at 90% plus an 80% set

Wed
    Press or variant same deal
    Dips
    Chins

Friday
    Deadlift max effort same ordeal except I'd jut limit this to 2 back off sets one at 90 one at 80

Next Monday
    Bench
    Dips
    Chins

And so forth

Condition on days you train or even days you don't. what this program does isn't allow you to work up to what you can do that day.

If you shift into a maintenance program not built with any progression you will over time get weaker which is not good for job performance or life.