starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What to do after cutting for 3 months?

Default What to do after cutting for 3 months?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I’ve been doing SS for about 8 months now. Due to some personal things, I’ve had to take some breaks from training, and thus my progressions hasn’t been what could be expected.

Weight: 87 kg / 190 lbs
    Height: 185 cm

My lifts are as following:

Squat: 100 kg / 220 lbs (have not been able to perform it without getting pain in the arms, and thus haven’t been able to progress very much at all)
    Deadlift: 147.5 kg / 325 lbs
    Bench Press: 70 kg / 155 lbs
    Press: 50 kg / 110 lbs
    Power Clean: 50 kg / 110 lbs (have not progressed for several months, as I’ve been focusing on doing the lift properly)

I’ve been gaining 1 kg pr month. Problem is, I’ve become too fat for my likening. I know I should not care about that as long as my strength increase and all that stuff, but I work out mainly to look good. So I’ve decided, even though it will ruin some of the results, to cut 6 kg off during the next 3 months.

I'm not really sure where to continue from here. SS cannot be run on a cut, so I have to find another program for that. But also, I do not know if I should go back to SS after the cut is over as I do not know if I can still keep the progression. As my first priority is size and not strength, maybe I should start on a bodybuilding / hypertrophy (push-pull-legs maybe?) program on the cut, and continue doing a program like that for the next bulk? Or would it be better to maybe still prioritize strength during the cut and for some time during the next bulk until my progression almost stops, and first then switch to a bodybuilding / hypertrophy program?
    Last edited by Mattias Damsgaard; 04-06-2019 at 08:12 AM.