starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Press & bench stall on LP

Default Press & bench stall on LP

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey, coaches. I am age 16 and male. I weigh 202 lbs at 5'11". I am on my LP with a light squat day. I started the light day 3 weeks ago. I started the LP in mid-October and have had 2 adductor injuries totaling 13 weeks of lost time. I started lifting last year in mid-October at a weight of 135, doing what Rip refers to as "silly bullshit". This October when I started lifting again after football season I started my LP at a weight of 160. For the press and bench I was using a 2.5 lb increment when I stalled at 150x3x5 and 202.5x3x5, respectively. I started using the increment 3 months ago and I have deloaded each lift twice. I eat at least 3600 calories per day minimum and no less than 200 grams of protein per day, minimum. Between work sets I rest about 7 minutes. For the press and bench I started the LP at 115 lbs and 155 lbs, respectively. I used 5 lb increments for each lift until 3 weeks into the program when I began to add a 6th rep in lew of microloading. This was dumb, but I progressed doing that until 3 months ago when I began microloading in 2.5 lb increments. I have had a full stall and deload in each lift twice. For reference, I am squatting 370x3x5 (I have a form check video out now in the technique forum, feedback is much appreciated) on the novice LP with a Wednesday light day currently along with a 207.5x5x3 power clean and a 380x1x5 deadlift. How am I supposed to program my pressing exercises until my squat and deadlift LP's die off, forcing me into full-blown Texas Method?

Thanks for any help. Hello from Wisconsin, where it will snow tomorrow.

Sincerely,
    Jack Morrison