starting strength gym

Thread: Light and Medium Days in HLM Programming

Default Light and Medium Days in HLM Programming

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    This is my first post to the forums, and I hope it isn’t too long. Please be gentle. I appreciate the time and energy that you guys put into the forums. I know you do it for free on your own time.

About me: Male, 42, 5’10”, 300 lbs. Following Starting Strength programming since July 2017.
    Recent PRs:
    Squat: 465x5
    Deadlift: 405x5
    Bench: 215x3
    Press: 137.5x5
    Power Clean: 145x3 (recently added to training—delayed using it due to a thoracic spine injury)

Some background: I started lifting seriously in 2017 because I was tired of being fat and weak. Due to injuries and family issues, I ran NLP a few times, and now I’m much stronger than I’ve ever been in my life. Since February, I’ve been following a basic HLM approach with a bench press focus (for now), increasing weights each week. About a month ago, I reset my weights and began rotating heavy days between 5s, 3s, and 1s.

My question: I’m not sure what to do with light and medium days. Right now light day is 80% of my heavy 5s for three sets of five, and medium day is 90% of my heavy 5s for four sets of five. I’m using the same weights and reps on those days for three weeks at a time, but I wonder if I’d be better off waving the light and medium day weights or rotating rep schemes for each cycle of 5s, 3s, and 1s. Any ideas about weights and rep schemes would be appreciated.

If your light and medium days aren't stalling you can keep it simple and continue on. If the light/medium days are getting boring you could add some variety through exercise selection (paused squats, box squats, safety bar squats, incline BP, CGBP, etc.) to fit the "light" or "medium" day depending on your weekly template.