starting strength gym

Thread: Front squats and power snatches

Question Front squats and power snatches

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi, I've been doing the SS novice since mid-March (~ 3 months), running the advanced novice program now. I had some experience with lifting weights before starting this round of SS. My lifts are:
    • Squat: 295 lbs x 5 reps
    • Deadlift: 345 lbs x 5
    • Press: 135 lbs x 4-5
    • Bench: 175 lbs x 5
    • Power clean: 115 lbs x 5
    My bodyweight is 190 lbs.

After having bad wrist pain in my second to last power clean session, a coach (not a SS coach) friend of mine recommended me front squatting once a week to improve my wrist flexibility. I did what he said in my last workout and my wrist didn't hurt at all! Though I must add I used far better gym equipment last time. I think he might onto something and I wanna keep front squatting once a week. Since I eventually want to transition to Olympic weightlifting, I think that makes sense. My question is how should I incorporate the FS to the advanced novice program. Should I do front squats instead light squats on Wednesday or should I do them as a separate exercise, say on Wednesday? I'm not thinking of going too heavy on FS. Just want to do them to improve my front rack position at this point.

My second question is where does the power snatch fit in the SS? It's not a part of the novice program discussed in the book but it appears on the intermediate programs. When is a good time to learn the power snatch? Should I start doing them while I am still on the novice program?

Thanks!

Let's back up here: you are squatting 295x5 at 190 bodyweight, and you're ready to do an advanced novice program including front squats? Why??

Hi Mark,