starting strength gym

Thread: Late novice program

Default Late novice program

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    What do you think of this program i made for myself. I'm a late novice lifts are squat 315x5, deadlift 375x5, press 155x5 and bench 225x4. I was doing starting strength (not doing power cleans) but i found out that squatting then later deadlifting screwed up my deadlift progression because i always get beat up from the squats. No chins because I'm too fat to do them I'm 230lb. 5'11
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Day A:
    Squat 2x5 1x5+
    Bench 2x5 1x5+
    Barbell Rows 2x5 1x5+ (To help my shitty bench and improve my weak upper back for DL)
    face pulls 2x15
    curls 2x8 (for the girls)
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Day B:
    Deadlift 1x5+
    Press 2x5 1x5+
    front squats 3x5 (quads are my weak link in squats)
    CGBP 3x10 (triceps strength is my weakness in bench)
    curls 2x8
    face pulls 2x15
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The progression goes like this (I stole this from Greyskull lP) lets say I'm going to squat 315 today. I do 2x5. Then, on my last set I do 315 for as many reps as I can (5+) (I try not to go to complete failure).
    If i get:
    5-8 reps add 5 lb
    10+ add 10 lb