starting strength gym

Thread: New Army Combat Fitness Test - (ACFT) - A Strength Based Approach

Post New Army Combat Fitness Test - (ACFT) - A Strength Based Approach

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Good afternoon community,

I would be very interested to hear / thoughts I would like to have about the new format of the Army Combat Fitness Test. In quite a bit of the Starting Strength videos / podcasts, I know Rip has been especially vocal about his opinion on military "fitness" programs (they're terrible, I'm a part time soldier, and I know how bad they are). I would like to see what the opinion of the SS community here is on the subject matter.

Is anyone here training to do well on it or has taken it?

Army Combat Fitness Test

I will be curious to see how I do next year on this utilizing a strength approach. Would love to hear some thoughts on this subject matter from athletes / soldiers.

So my concerns with this.....

Which exercises are administered first - last in the test?
    Will you be allowed to warm-up the deadift? Or are you supposed to show up and deadlift 300lbs cold?
    Who is going to teach the hundreds of thousands of people to properly execute this lift w/o getting hurt?

I am glad to see the US Army take strength training serious. However, with 6 exercises being tested, I feel like they're to fit 5lbs of shit in a 10lb bag. I think 2-3 strength exercises, and the run, would more than sufficient.

It's not a deadlift. It's a trap-bar pull.

It's 6 events, overly simplified:
    Hand Release version of pushups
    Overhead medicine ball toss with 10 lb ball
    Trap Bar Dead Lift
    Leg Tuck (A pull-up with a leg tuck)
    A sprint / shuttle / drag event
    2 mile run at the end