starting strength gym

Thread: question about progress

Default question about progress

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hallo, my name is Ilias and I live in Athens, Greece.

I have been started the novice program 3 weeks now and I have finished the phase 1 but I am to weak yet.
    I have no barbell training experience. I did bodyweight training most and periodically I was wenting to a gym for a while.
    I started to find out how to power clean at the last 2-3 workouts. I think that I have decent progress in technique but I am not strong enough to put plates on the barbell neither the lightest. What I sould do? Is better to keep working out for a few weeks or just do the power cleans without weight?

My stats: Deadlift from 60 to 105kg
    Squat from 20 to 50kg
    Bench press from 57.5 to 67.5kg
    Press from 20 to 35kg

It would be very helpfull if you post how tall are you, how old are you and how much do you weight. Also I find it impossible to do a proper powerclean with empty bar. It is OK at first workout but later there need to be enough weight on the bar to force you to do the lift fast but not too much so you dont have to struggle with it every rep.

I'm not a coach, but in my view you should hold off on the power cleans until you get your deadlift up a lot more. You should be able to deadlift 3x a week still, and probably for at least a few more week.

Thank you very much for your interest.

I am 1.80m tall, 25 years old and 95kg.

Today I had a little progress. Deadlift 107.5kg Squat 55kg and Bench Press 70kg. I have not be familiar yet with barbell training. For example I can do 40 push-ups in row but I am finding difficult to maintain proper form effortless in Bench press. The barbell exercises feels very different to me by the corresponding bodyweight exercises.